Hello and welcome to my new blog.

As some of you may already know, I am now in my second month in the role of Chief Executive of The Prostate Cancer Charity. It has been an intense few months getting to grips with all things prostate but now that I have settled in I will be using this blog to share with you some weekly updates on some of the more interesting things that I’m doing, as well as my musings on the wider world.

This blog is a first for the Charity, so do please let me know what you think of it and what you would like to hear more of.

As clichéd as it is, one of the things that has struck me most since I started in the job is the enthusiasm and dedication of those working to make things better for men with prostate cancer and I feel excited to be helping to lead this movement forward.

One of the things that has really helped us to put prostate cancer on the map is the phenomenal success of our partnership with Movember. Through the tireless efforts of Mo Bros and Sistas across the country, we have been able to hugely expand the level of services, information, awareness and research funding we can offer. I cannot wait to experience my first proper campaign and I am secretly looking forward to seeing what my ‘mo’ will look like, and am hoping that my colleagues will be kind in their appraisals of my effort .

The prostate cancer cause has come a long way in recent years. However, it is clear to me that the outcomes for men are far too varied according to where they live and the section of the community that they come from. This has to change. We know which men are at greater risk of getting the disease, yet the health system is not consistently supporting those men to make informed choices. The level of funding for research into prostate cancer has increased but still lags behind other cancer groups.

So, as I lead the Charity on this exciting journey I hope you will follow my blog. I have said it before and I will say it again – it is a real privilege to be doing this job and I love every minute of it.

I couldn’t let this blog go by without just mentioning a few recent successes for the Charity as our very own industry awards season gets underway. Our relationship with Keyline Builders won the best partnership award this year’s Business Charity Awards, and we are waiting with baited breath for the results of the CIPR Awards and the AOP Digital Publishing Awards where the Charity’s Media and PR Team and website have also been shortlisted.

Don’t’ forget, you can also keep up with me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/OwenSharpCEO

Owen

Leave a Reply

